Gayatri Spivak with Bear

Gordon Lester, a friend from my time in the MA English program at the University of Guelph, has recently been contacted by someone arranging publicity for Gayatri Spivak, the famous theorist who wrote, among other things, the introduction without which I would not understand Jacques Derrida’s Of Grammatology even to the very small degree that I do. Apparently, Spivak would like to use Gordon’s painting, Gayatri Spivak with Bear, in the promotional material for her CRASSH lecture in Cambridge, England on October 9th. Gordon has produced a whole series of pictures depicting famous theorists with bears, of which I have the Naomi Klein original. If you are interested to see the whole series, there is a link to Gordon’s site in my blogroll.

1 comment
  1. I am putting together a book with a co-editor on one of Spivak’s famous works; I am desirous of using the image produced by Gordon Lester .Gayatri Spivak with Bear’. I have tried in vain to contact Mr Lester; he is not on the Guelph Uni site anymore and no trace of him anywhere else. Your link also does not work for his collections (you may wish to modify this). Could you contact me off-line and send me his current contact details (email, tel, fax, telepathy code, etc). This will be most helpful.

    Warm regards,

    P Bilimoria

Leave a Reply

