Managing Media

Well, those of you who are foolish enough to be reading along at home will realize by the sudden absence of today’s posts that my experiment in using the blog to manage my online research has been terminated only a few hours into its existence. When it began to feel unweildy after the first five posts, I knew that there was nothing to be done but to end it before I wasted any more of my time and energy.

Still, I am left with my problem unresolved. I need a way to manage internet research. I need a program that keeps track of the various blog posts, videos, podcasts, discussion threads, and static content that I would like to reference. I need a way to have others contribute their own discoveries to this mess. I need a way to select the ones that interest me. I need a way to link to these resorces, to group them, to comment on them, to attach files and addenda to them. I need a way to share some of these grouped media with classes and discussion groups and friends. I need someone with the programming ability make this happen.

What I want does not exist, and I need help to make it exist. Any ideas would be welcome.

5 comments
  1. TC said:

    Do you need it immediately?

  2. I do actually have several people working on this in one capacity or another, but I am impatient, and I want what I want when I want it. If you know of anything that could help, let me know.

  3. TC said:

    Hi Luke
    I don’t know if this would be useful:
    Quote:
    “Nicolas Carr writes in Atlantic Monthly (link from 3 Quarks) on reading and writing styles and technology. Though it deals with surfing vs. old fashioned reading, it also picks up on such fascinating arcanerie as Nietzsche having to resort to a typewriter when he couldn’t write by hand any more and what effect this had on his writing style attested to by contemporaries.

    I have written on the web as hypertext, including what a blog is and isn’t ( e.g. TiddlyWiki ). When checking this post from Moleskine Modality, make sure to go to Eli Springer’s home page, then open up links in it to see how the new information is added to the original home page text. Stage I: open link Eli Springer in the home page then in that page, as an example, the link ‘moral change’ to show how all three sets of text are available on the same page. Note in each new text box, in the top right-hand corner, there is a choice to close the box down. It is possible to open every link in the home page, and every link in (for simplicity) the Eli Springer page.

    Here, in the Carr, is the argument that something radical is happening to both reading and writing, in the suggestion there might be some sort of cognitive change going on. This, from the background of writing being something we learn as opposed to spoken language which we are essentially born with the ability to use.

    Before the web, hypertext theory abounded. It might be instructive to examine some of the web-based hypertext ideas (The Electronic Labyrinth) to see how they fit into the unending debate about the effect of surfing on reading and writing habits”

    http://adferoafferro.wordpress.com/

    June 19, 2008

Leave a Reply

