Learned and Leisurely Hospitality

My friend James Shelley has just posted a quotation from Ivan Illich, one of my favourite authors.  I will not try to expand upon what Illich says.  It is, just as it is, a perfect articulation of what I know to be true of friendship and of learning and of hospitality.  Coming from James, whom I do not see nearly enough, it is also a reminder of how fragile and tenuous the possibility of this friendship is, and of how much it is worth pursuing.

Leave a Reply

