Beef Stew

I am not certain that the world needs another recipe for beef stew, but I did something by accident today that has received such high praise that I might as well record it somewhere.

The first part of the accident was that I happened to have a fair amount of sausage drippings that were left from another meal, so I used them to saute the sliced onions, crushed garlic, minced ginger, and diced tomatos.  When they had softened, I fried the beef in the mixture, then stirred in cubed potatoes, carrots, turnip, and squash.

The second part of the accident requires some explanation.  I hate the texture of liver, but I also hate just trashing anything, so a few weeks ago I experimented with making some beef liver stock.  Since this stock was already in the house, and since the stew seemed a likely use for it, I added two cups of it to the pot rather than use plain beef stock.  When everything had come to a simmer, I added celery salt, parsley, bay leaves, and thyme.

Two hours later, the tomatoes and the squash had melted nicely, so the broth was very thick.  The beef was tender, and the root vegetables were still mostly whole but soft enough to mash with a spoon.  The sausage and liver flavours were beautiful.  Now, if only I would have had a draught stout to go with it.

Leave a Reply

