Jamie Oliver’s Essential Ingredients

This is already my second post of the day, and there will likely be more, all food related. I normally try to spread these things around, but sometimes events impose themselves and leave me little choice. Today is such a day.

This morning, as I was preparing for our dinner tonight, something that I will likely post about later, I came across a list near the front of Jamie Oliver’s The Naked Chef. I was in the midst of scanning the tables of contents of several of my cookbooks, looking for ideas for colourful appetizers, which I will also likely post about later.  The list is entitled, “Suggested Basic List for Your Pantry”, and it instantly reminded me of the post that I wrote some time ago about the ingredients that are essential to my cooking. Granted, Jamie’s list is only for the pantry and does not include fresh vegetables, so it is very different from mine, but the idea is the same. These are the ingredients that he needs to have on hand, not for any recipe in particular, but just because they are the ingredients that he cannot do without.  They are the ingredients that reveal his personality as a cook.

So, I will post his list for you, and I will also highlight the ingredients on his list that I also happen to have in my own pantry at this moment, for my own entertainment if not for yours.

Suggested Basic List for Your Pantry

Mustards: Dijon, wholegrain, English
Oils: extra virgin olive, olive, sunflower
Vinegars: red wine, white wine, balsamic, rice wine
Flour: all-purpose, bread, cake, self-rising, cornmeal, durum semolina
Couscous
Baking powder, baking soda
Sugar: brown, white, confectioners’
Salt: sea, table, cooking
Dried pasta: spaghetti, linguine, tagliatelle, penne, farfalle
Legumes: cranberry beans, cannellini beans, black-eyed peas, lima beans, yellow split peas, lentils, chickpeas
Canned tomatoes
Rice: basmati, Arborio, Carnaroli
Olives: black, green
Nuts: pine nuts, whole almonds, hazelnuts
Dried mushrooms: porcini
Sun-dried tomatoes
Chocolate: good-quality bittersweet
Unsweetened cocoa powder
Soy sauce, fish sauce, oyster sauce
Anchovies in olive oil or salt
Capers: salted
Herbs and spices: Black peppercorns, dried chillies, nutmeg, cloves, coriander seeds, fennel seeds, cumin seeds, caraway seeds

These kinds of lists interest me inordinately.

4 comments
  1. Lauren said:

    Can’t wait to hear about your dinner. I have plans for a pot of curried squash coconut soup and grilled cheese sandwiches because it just feels like that sort of day.

    I enjoyed the fact that Jamie’s list included farfalle (my most favourite kind of pasta to both eat & say) and dark chocolate. I was a little surprised it didn’t include milk chocolate, since British milk chocolate is so superior to ours.

  2. Lauren,

    Send me the recipe for that soup. I might use it for next weekend’s Dinner and a Doc.

  3. Lauren said:

    Will do … although the “recipe” will look very similar to the one you posted earlier today. 🙂

  4. Katerina said:

    hey i was there the first time we did this lol

Leave a Reply

