A Blessing

Every morning that I take my eldest son to Montessori school, two days a week, he gives me a singular farewell.  He first asks, with much gravity, when I will come to pick him up.  Once I have answered this question, he makes me kneel down to his level, and he takes my face between his hands, and he kisses me solemly on the forehead, like some ancient elder imparting a blessing, and each time he does this I am reminded of how blessed I am.  Each time, I am surprised once more at how good it is for my soul that I am made to kneel and receive on my forehead the blessing of his kiss.

Leave a Reply

