Preparing a Lesson

As a teacher, I do not prepare a lesson.  I prepare only myself.  I prepare myself to teach, to model, and even, perhaps especially, to fail.  I do not offer my knowledge.  I only offer myself, with my knowledge certainly, and with my experience, but also with my failures and inadequacies.  No amount of lesson preparation can covera  poverty of self-preparation, and this self-preparation is not a matter of a few hours the night before class.  It is a matter of a life lived.  I prepare myself to teach with every moment that I live, for good or for ill.  I am always preparing to teach, and I can only hope that I am preparing well.

Leave a Reply

