The End of This Blog as We Know It

The title of this post perhaps overstates the situation somewhat.  I am not abandoning the blog entirely.  I will continue to post chapters of Lindy and other creative pieces.  I will also post longer essay-length pieces occasionally, and I will not guarantee that the urge to write something blog-ish will not strike me now and again.  On the whole, however, I have decided that I will no longer be writing the blog in the intentional way that I have been over the past three years.

It was not any major event that triggered this decision, just the growing sense that I am becoming bored with the form of the blog post, bored with its brevity, and bored with its lack of focus.  I feel the need to produce writing that is longer and more focused and more reflective and more patient again.  I feel the need to read and write less but to do so therefore with a greater concern for my reading and writing.  So, while I will still be posting in this space, it will be less frequently and probably at greater length.

As part of this change in my focus, I will probably also begin gathering some of  my earlier posts on different topics and editing them into larger pieces that I will then post under the Longer Works section.   Many of the posts that I have written these past years have become reference points for me, like a set of notes for larger ideas and questions, and I would like the chance to spend some time giving these notes a fuller form, particularly those on home, and threshold, and community.  I have begun on some of these projects already, but I will not hazard to guess when anything finished will be forthcoming.

On a final note, I would like to thank everyone who responded to what I have written in this space, either in comments or in conversation.  I have greatly appreciated the ways that you have challenged me to think and to rethink, and I am indebted to you very deeply.

5 comments
  1. Lauren said:

    I’m *thisclose* to falling to my knees and shouting “NooooooooOOOOOoooo!” to the heavens. I love reading the shorter stuff on your blog, so I hope you don’t gie it up entirely.

  2. Lauren,

    Thanks for the kind words. And you never know. I may return to this someday.

  3. The loss of your presence as a blogger will be felt by no one so much as me. Terrible, terrible news to receive as I come back to the web after a long vacation, and only to find it has become less than it was when I left it.

    Thanks for your posts to date, I have gained much from them and look forward to your new writing.

  4. Dave,

    Thanks for getting me started in the first place. I enjoyed writing in the medium very much, but I need now to write differently. I hope you enjoy what comes next.

  5. Pingback: The third way

Leave a Reply

