Sprouting

I posted a while ago about trying to germinate sandcherry seeds, and I regret to report that the experiment was not a success, at least not to any significant degree.  Of the tray that I planted, two seeds did germinate (not counting the one that germinated in cold stratification and that I transplanted into its own pot), but all three seedlings died very quickly for reasons that I could not identify.  There did not seem to be any damping off.  The moisture in the soil seemed good.  They had plenty of light and a steady temperature.  I have no idea.

More positively, my wild roses and concord grapes have germinated beautifully, and my niagra grapes, planted a week later, are starting to show shoots as of this morning.  I also have red currents, elderberries, and nannyberries planted now, with tomatoes going in this week, so the grow-op is in full production, and I am fully  immersed in the romance of the seed.

3 comments
  1. Curtis said:

    It would seem to me Luke, from what I am reading, is that you need to grow these cherries inside, and you’re starting them in the wrong season- one they shouldn’t be planted in doors, they need regular day time direct sunlight, and they have to go through the winter in order to bloom properly- if you’re worried about pests, you’re going to have to cover them with burlap or similar clothings for protection. All I can think of is that you’re going to need to set aside a section of yard, and build an enclosure sufficient enough to keep your rodents out- chicken wire, or metal door screening. I haven’t done an extensive amount of research, perhaps you accounted for these factors- if that is the case, my recommendation suffers from omission. Hope this is helpful.

  2. Curtis said:

    * excuse me- that you don’t need to grow them inside.

  3. Curtis,

    As I explained in my first post on the subject, I have already stratified the seeds to mimic the winter dormancy period, and I have a grow table with adjustable-height grow-lamps and heat pads that lets me grow things inside anytime of the year.

Leave a Reply

