Guerrilla Reviews

A friend of mine recommended that I read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, so when I saw a copy in the thrift store this morning, I made certain to add it to my cart.  Then, as I was entering it into my catalogue just moments ago, I found one of those bookmarks that amuse me in used books, only in this case it was not left behind in forgetfulness.  It was a large sticky note, carefully affixed to the title page, white with stylized images of an owl in the upper left corner and a flower in the bottom right, and it was clearly directed to the book’s next owner.

“Starts well,” the note reads.  “Don’t be fooled.  Grinds to a crawl in the middle and limps on for way too long.  Told by an unbelievable and uninteresting late-arriving character.”

I have not yet read even the first sentence of the book, so I have no basis for an opinion on how accurate this guerrilla review might be, but I am delighted to know that there is someone out there who is passionate enough about reading to include such a review when giving books away.  It raises my hopes for humanity.

Leave a Reply

